About the Reverend John C  Holland Awards

Established in 1996, these awards celebrate the rich cultural heritage of the community, with a particular focus on the contributions of African Canadians to the social, economic, and cultural life of our entire city.   Each year the Hamilton Black History Committee joins with the wider community to celebrate the achievements of youth and acknowledge the contributions of community members. These awards have become one of the premier events in our community and a valued symbol of achievement.


2018 Planning Committee

Marlene Thomas – Co-chair

Kathryn Crooks – Co-chair

Sajah Stiller – Secretary/Treasurer

Heather Greaves

Doreen Johnson

Terri Bedminster

Kimberley Bayne

Glenda Rookwood