

25 YEARS OF BLACK EXCELLENCE 1996 - 2021

SATURDAY, JUNE 19, 2021

## THANK YOU AND CONGRATULATIONS!









## 25 FOR 25 Scholarship Campaign

In celebration of the 25th anniversary of the Hamilton Black History Council and the Reverend John C Holland Awards:

The **25 for 25 Scholarship Campaign** seeks to support 25 local youth with scholarships of up to \$2,500 each.

Donations of any amount are warmly welcomed until December 31, 2021, including one time donations, and monthly pledges.

Make your contribution at: johnhollandawards.com/25for25



25 YEARS OF BLACK EXCELLENCE 1996-2021



### **2021 YOUTH SCHOLARSHIP AND BURSARY RECIPIENTS**

**25 YEARS JOHN C HOLLAND OF BLACK** EXCELLENCE 1996 - 2021



**Shayla Rodney** Dr. Ethilda Johnson **Business Scholarship** 



**Aaron Parry Community Matters Scholarship** 



REVEREND

Cheikh Youmbi Lincoln M. Alexander Breaking Down Barriers Scholarship



Leah Daniel Nelson Mandela Social Justice Scholarship



**Calin Gibson** Raymond G Lewis Sports Leadership Scholarship



**Happy Habte** Rev. George Horton Law Enforcement Scholarship

## 2021 YOUTH SCHOLARSHIP AND BURSARY RECIPIENTS

25 YEARS OF BLACK EXCELLENCE 1996-2021



Aisha Ahmad YWCA Girls Rock Scholarship



Alyssa Vernon Audre Lorde LGBTQ2S Scholarship 25th Anniversary Pillar Scholarship



Benjamin Faulknore Tune In Bursary



**Oyin Aderibigbe** Evelyn Myrie Political Action Bursarv



REVEREND

JOHN C HOLLAND

Teniola Odunfa Immigrants Matter Bursary



Abygail Montague Marlene Thomas Community Advocacy Bursary

### **2021 YOUTH SCHOLARSHIP AND BURSARY RECIPIENTS**

25 YEARS **JOHN C HOLLAND** OF BLACK EXCELLENCE 1996 - 2021



Darasami Jakande **General Achievement Bursary** 



Noah Matsakawo General Achievement Bursary



REVEREND

**Angelique Desouza** General Achievement Bursary



**Shayla Bramer General Achievement Bursary** 

### 2021 YOUTH Community Awards



Fechukwu Agbassi Personal Growth Award



**25 YEARS** 

OF BLACK EXCELLEN<u>CE</u>

1996 - 2021

REVEREND

JOHN C HOLLAND

**Grace Abai** Global Equity Award



**Temitayo Babalola** 

**Resiliency Award** 

Dannick Butera Athletic Leadership Award



Seretta Goulbourne Youth Ally Award



**Naomi Ngobila** Supporting the Cause Award

### 2021 YOUTH COMMUNITY AWARDS



Malachi Ahmad Mental Health Advocacy Award



REVEREND

JOHN C HOLLAND

**25 YEARS** 

OF BLACK EXCELLENCE

1996 - 2021

Bailey Bovell Art Achievement Award



**Payton Shank** 

Equity and Social Change Award

Tas-Jay Smith Entrepreneurship Award

### 2021 ADULT Community Awards



Kojo Damptey Award of Merit



**25 YEARS** 

OF BLACK EXCELLENCE

1996 - 2021

REVEREND

**JOHN C HOLLAND** 

**Dr. Ameil Joseph** Vince Morgan Ally Award



Joëlle Kabisoso Kapinga

Community Service Award

Max Francis of True Hamiltonian Business Excellence Award

# trad.

Trad Magazine Arts and Culture Award



25 YEARS OF BLACK EXCELLENCE 1996-2021

#### **EVENT SPONSORS**







**EQUITY & INCLUSION OFFICE** 







Hamilton Steelworkers Area Council

25 YEARS OF BLACK EXCELLENCE 1996-2021

#### SCHOLARSHIP AND AWARD FUNDERS

Beeksma Law Mount Olive Lodge #1 Dejehan Hamilton May-Marie Duwai-Sowa, Illuminessence Hamilton Community News Hamilton Chamber of Commerce Gowling WLG MP Matthew Green YWCA Hamilton Olukunle and Kimora Adetunji United Steelworkers Area Council Ruth Cameron Ross & McBride LLP Refuge Newcomer Health

#### **COMMUNITY SPONSORS**

Marlene Thomas Gordon Waddell Black Boys Code Afro Canadian Caribbean Association City of Hamilton - Mayor's Office McMaster University - Equity Office Gary and Joy Warner Jeff Holland **Empowerment Squared** FlyPrint Manny Figueiredo Scott's Manor **Bob** Bratina Anonymous Donors Hamilton Wentworth Catholic **District School Board** Hamilton Wentworth **District School Board** 

JOHN C HOLL

25 YEARS OF BLACK EXCELLENCE 1996 - 2021

#### HAMILTON BLACK HISTORY COUNCIL

Corey Grant (25th Anniversary Co-Chair) Terri Bedminster (25th Anniversary Co-Chair) Marlene Thomas (Chair Emerita) Jeff Holland Doreen Johnson Nicole Virgin Michael Highgate

#### **VENDORS & SWAG BAG DONORS**

Shellyann Catering Liuna Station Dessertaholics FlyPrint Doreen Johnson & Friends Zayowah - I am Hair Zion Glenda Rookwood Jay-Tees Cee-Wee Designs

#### **DOCUMENTARY PARTICIPANTS**

JOHN C HOLLAND

Marlene Thomas Evelyn Myrie Dr. Gary Warner Jeff Holland Kristian Ferriera Sydney Hussett-Richardson Jayme Martin-Salvatori Dr. Fred Ofosu Ray Green Corey Grant Terri Bedminster May-Marie Duwai-Sowa MP Matthew Green

#### PERFORMERS

Bel Canto String Orchestra Liuna Station Ja'miil Millar Michelle Bookal DJ Verse One



#### **ORGANIZING COMMITTEE**

Angeline Brew Ashleigh Montague Bernadette Arthur Brandon Shivbarran Corey Grant Danielle Mighty Debra Pettinella Dejehan "Luckystickz" Hamilton Denise Sterling Glenda Rookwood Jasmine Francis Kobe Saffu Mami Terika Marlene Thomas Michelle Shivbarran Natalie Burns-Holland Sajah Stiller Salsabil Sarhan Shawn Washington-Purser Sydney Hussett-Richardson Terri Bedminster Yahya Gairey

#### **MEDIA PARTNERS AND PARTICIPANTS**

Tune In Media Inc. Share Magazine - Ron Fanfair FlyPrint CHCH Cable 14 Faith Ganda Hamilton Spectator Hamilton Community News Malachi Small Shayna Beeksma